Boots WebMD Partners in Health
Return To Boots

Quiz: How to live gluten-free

  1 of  
Current Score:  
slide image

Gluten is:

slide image

Gluten is:

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These grains are processed and used as starches and binders in many processed foods. You may also find gluten in medicine, beer, lip balms and vitamins.

slide image

Which is a symptom of gluten intolerance?

slide image

Which is a symptom of gluten intolerance?

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Common symptoms of a gluten intolerance include diarrhoea, cramping, bloating, wind, constipation, and anaemia. Coeliac disease, an autoimmune disease, has many of the same symptoms. Although not a symptom of coeliac disease a unique rash called dermatitis herpetiformis is the skin manifestation of the disease. The intensely itchy rash may appear on your elbows, knees and buttocks.

Eating gluten-free is essential if you:

Eating gluten-free is essential if you:

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

The only way to live symptom free from coeliac disease or a gluten intolerance is to always avoid foods with gluten. Coeliac UK says if you are diagnosed with coeliac disease by a doctor, you can receive some gluten-free foods and ingredients on prescription from the NHS.

There is no test for coeliac disease.

There is no test for coeliac disease.

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

You can find out whether you have coeliac disease with a simple blood test.The blood test is looking for certain antibodies in the blood. If the blood test is positive, your doctor will refer you for an endoscopic biopsy that involves taking a small sample of the small intestine to be examined for signs of coeliac disease.

Which grain does not contain gluten?

Which grain does not contain gluten?

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Quinoa is a so-called 'superfood' from the Andes Mountains that's gluten-free and very nutritious, with high levels of protein and amino acids. It is an excellent, inexpensive alternative to grain which can be eaten whole, cooked like rice or couscous, or made into flour. Some gluten-free pastas are made from quinoa flour.

You can tell which prepared foods have gluten just by looking at them.

You can tell which prepared foods have gluten just by looking at them.

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

There's no way to tell by looking at cooked foods and whether they are gluten-free unless they are plainly cooked meats, fish or vegetables. Look out for things like breadcrumbs, batters or sauces. Read the labels and ask questions. When in doubt, don't eat it.

You can't drink alcohol if you're on a gluten-free diet.

You can't drink alcohol if you're on a gluten-free diet.

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

There's no gluten in distilled drinks like wine and spirits. But some cocktails and mixed spirit drinks have ingredients with gluten. Beer, lagers, stouts and ales all contain varying amounts of gluten, but there are gluten-free beers on the market.

What's a good gluten-free breakfast?

What's a good gluten-free breakfast?

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Baked beans are usually gluten-free, but it's best to check the label for wheat fillers. Give plain bagels and pancakes made with wheat flour a miss, but gluten-free mixes are available. Unless it's made with gluten-free bread, toast is off the breakfast menu.

Which aisle should be your favourite when shopping at the supermarket for gluten-free food?

Which aisle should be your favourite when shopping at the supermarket for gluten-free food?

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Fruit and vegetables are naturally gluten-free so fill your supermarket trolley with as much as you want. Most frozen ready meals, snack foods and cereals contain gluten.

 

Many supermarkets have gluten-free products like bread, biscuits, cereals and even frozen ready meals in their health food section. Also, check labels for the Crossed Grain symbol, created by Coeliac UK, that indicates a product is gluten-free.

Some parents believe eating gluten-free helps children with:

Some parents believe eating gluten-free helps children with:

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Some parents with autistic children believe their child's behaviour gets better if they eat gluten-free, but many researchers disagree. A review of recent and past studies concluded there is a lack of scientific evidence to say whether this diet can be helpful or not.

Oats are gluten-free.

Oats are gluten-free.

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Oats themselves do not contain gluten but the NHS says they are often avoided due to contamination from other cereals that do contain gluten. If you decide you want to include oats in your diet, check they are made at a safe facility and are pure. Always check with your doctor or dietitian before adding oats to your diet.

Which snack is off limits on a gluten-free diet?

Which snack is off limits on a gluten-free diet?

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Unless they are labelled gluten-free, most pretzels are made with wheat flour.  But cheer up: there are several brands of good-tasting gluten-free pretzels. You can eat other snacks like hummus (made from chick peas), carrot sticks, some potato crisps and popcorn. To be certain, make sure you read the label.

Manufacturers of gluten-free foods are required to explain gluten claims on labels.

Manufacturers of gluten-free foods are required to explain gluten claims on labels.

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

New laws in the UK mean manufacturers that make claims about gluten content must ensure food is labelled accurately. The phrase 'suitable for coeliacs' must now be accompanied by a 'gluten-free' or 'very low gluten' label.  'Gluten-free' can only be applied if food has 20 parts per million or less of gluten. These terms apply to products on supermarket shelves, menus in restaurants, food served in cafes – basically, anywhere you buy any food.

You can pick up gluten from a toaster.

You can pick up gluten from a toaster.

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Some people can't tolerate even a tiny bit of gluten, so it's important to keep food preparation areas and appliances gluten-free. If you use the same toaster to prepare regular and gluten-free toast, tiny crumbs from the regular bread may stick to the gluten-free toast. Those little particles can aggravate a gluten intolerance.

Which restaurant main course is a good gluten-free choice?

Which restaurant main course is a good gluten-free choice?

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

The plainer the food, the less likely it is to have any gluten on it or in it. Don't be shy about asking questions, even about the ingredients in condiments. Stay away from breading, batters or sauces made with flour and foods that are deep fried, unless the kitchen has a separate fryer. Ask your waiter if they have a gluten-free menu.

What can you use to bake gluten-free?

What can you use to bake gluten-free?

  • Your Answer:
  • Correct Answer:

Brown rice flour is typically used in gluten-free baked goods. Corn meal, bean and potato flour are also commonly used.

Your Score:   You correctly answered   out of   questions.
Your Score:   You correctly answered   out of   questions.
results image

11-16 correct Well done! You're on the way to gluten-free living

5-11 correct Not bad. Keep reading to learn what it takes to live gluten-free

0-5 correct You can do better. Swot up on gluten-free living and take the quiz again.

Popular Slideshows & Tools on Boots WebMD

woman looking at pregnancy test
Early pregnancy symptoms
donut on plate
The truth about sugar addiction
fish n chips
Diarrhoea & more
man coughing
10 common allergy triggers
couple watching sunset
How much do you know?
hand extinguishing cigarette
13 best tips to stop smoking
woman washing face
Living and dealing with eczema
boy looking at broccoli
Quick tips for feeding picky eaters
bag of crisps
Food cravings that wreck your diet
dogs face
Workout with Fido
polka dot dress on hangar
Lose weight without dieting