Boots WebMD Partners in Health
Return To Boots

Mental health centre

Crisis resources

At BootsWebMD, we want to help our readers when they need it the most. We have compiled a list of crisis resources, helplines and websites that may be of help if you or someone you know may be in trouble.

This list is not a complete list and BootsWebMD does not endorse these services. If you think you need immediate help and cannot speak to a family member, a medical professional or a member of the clergy, please contact one of these organisations, seek medical advice or dial 999 immediately.

We have listed information below about suicide and domestic abuse, addiction, elderly care, missing children and volunteer services.

If you need immediate assistance dial 999.

Suicide hotline numbers

 

Domestic abuse, child abuse and bullying

 

Addiction

  • Alcoholics Anonymous. alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk 0800 9177 650
  • Al-Anon Family Groups UK and Eire. al-anonuk.org.uk 020 7403 0888 (England and Wales), 0141 339 8884 (Scotland), 028 9068 2368 (NI)
  • DrinkLine. 0300 123 1110
  • Frank. talktofrank.com (national drugs helpline) 0300 123 6600
  • UK Narcotics Anonymous. ukna.org 0300 999 1212
  • NACOA. nacoa.org.uk National Association for Children of Alcoholics. 0800 358 3456

 

Elderly care

Action on Elder Abuse. elderabuse.org.uk 0808 808 8141
Age UK. ageuk.org.uk 0800 169 2081
Help the Hospices. hospiceuk.org 020 7520 8200

Missing and at-risk children and adults

Call 999 or your local police station and report any missing or abducted person immediately.

Missing People. missingpeople.org.uk 116 000
NSPCC ChildLine. childline.org.uk 0800 1111
Action Against Abduction (formerly PACT) actionagainstabduction.org
Reunite. reunite.org 01162 556 234 (help when a child is abducted abroad by a parent or relative)

Volunteering and other useful organisations

British Red Cross. redcross.org.uk
NHS Organ Donation. organdonation.nhs.uk
Make a Wish Foundation. make-a-wish.org.uk
Prince's Trust. princes-trust.org.uk
Volunteering Matters.  volunteeringmatters.org.uk
NCVO. ncvo.org.uk
Volunteering Wales. volunteering-wales.net
Volunteer Scotland. volunteerscotland.net
Volunteer Now (Northern Ireland). volunteernow.co.uk

WebMD Medical Reference

Medically Reviewed by Dr Rob Hicks on March 30, 2016

Mind, body & soul newsletter

Look after your health
and wellbeing.
Sign Up

Popular slideshows & tools on BootsWebMD

man holding back
Myths & facts about back pain
hands grabbing knee
How to keep your joints healthy
bowl of soup
Small changes that lead to weight loss
cute baby
Simple tips to keep baby's skin healthy
african american woman wiping sweat from forehead
See these tips
79x79_hairloss_in_women.jpg
Do you know what causes hair loss?
woman exercising
Exercises for low back pain
sperm and egg
Facts to help you get pregnant
bucket with cleaning supplies in it
Cleaning for a healthy home
rash on skin
Soothe skin and prevent flare-ups
mother and child
Could your baby be allergic to milk?
pregnant woman eating healthy salad
Nutrition needs before pregnancy